Sarah   Wagner

 
 
Noticing everyones responses to our question, "Why do freshman gain weight?" had me start thinking about my life-style freshman year. Even though I went to a Mount Saint Mary's University I still had a similar experience with temptations. 

The lifestyle of a freshman changes the minute you get a meal plan. It seems like the food possibilities are endless. Mount Saint Mary's was different than Rowan because it was not a one swipe all you can eat fest. You chose your meal and brought it to the cashier where you swiped your card. Dont get me wrong we had a pasta bar, create your own sandwich, ice cream maker, fried food area, and home cooked meal section which was never healthy. Our bookstore even had a candy station where you received your own plastic bag and filled it with the candy of your choice. Talk about pounds on your hips. I rarely exercised but I surprisingly I didn't gain that much weight. Towards the end of the year I never went to dinner at the cafe because I disliked the food so I had soup for dinner or something small. Since we had a small refrigerator I was obsessed with the ices that came in the plastic tube. Looking back I made poor choices but even today I am not making the right choices all the time. 



Leave a Reply.